Parenting is So Hard!

Parenting has been very difficult .  It has been so exhausting and draining.  Malachi has been very defiant recently.  It is mostly with me, but with Brian too.  He’s been very disrespectful to me too and refusing to do things I ask.  Last night bed time was going well and then he just turned into another boy……very demanding for his own way and super whiny.  Brian went upstairs to tell him it’s time to sleep and he cried and cried and finally fell asleep.  This morning he woke up whining around 5am and I heard little running footsteps.  It woke me up and I thought he was coming to our room, but he never made it.  I got up and he wasn’t in his room.  I found him in Zeke’s room rocking all curled up in the rocking chair.  I asked him if he was okay and he said he didn’t want to sleep in his bed.  I went through tons of questions and I thought maybe he was sleep walking because his eyes kept closing as I was talking to him.  He wanted to sleep in bed with us and I told him he had to go back to his own bed.  We went to his room and I asked him if he was scared, bad dream…all that.  He kept saying he didn’t want to sleep in his bed.  “I don’t want to!”  He became very belligerent.  It was very strange.  It was as if he woke up and remembered he didn’t want to be in bed from the night before…….very odd.  I woke Brian up and he took care of it.  We prayed for him and Malachi went back to sleep.  Super, super strange.  This morning we had some conflicts and then Brian came home for lunch and talked to him.  He told him when he disobeys Mama he also disobeys Papa and he would spank him too, even if I already spanked him. Brian left, Malachi went down for a nap fine, he didn’t argue with me at all.  He woke up from his nap and was a little cranky, but nearly as demanding as he often is.  It is so relieving right now, I don’t feel nearly as exhausted as I have been feeling.  It’s really had me down and I feel like a terrible mom because I get so frustrated and yell and can be mean.  Ugh!  Is this normal behavior for a three year old, is it personality, is it spiritual?  I wonder if it’s all three.  It’s reminding me to faithfully pray for my kids, something I haven’t been doing as frequently. 

Here’s some happy moments……

Zeke in his first summer outfit of the season.  It was quite warm today!

This was a happy brother time with some wrestling.             Matching pjs—-very cute!

6 thoughts on “Parenting is So Hard!”

  1. Thanks for sharing this. I know it’s hard. And we just have a 13 month old who is just starting to figure out that she can protest things. I know I say this to you all the time, but I can’t imagine what it’s like keeping up and in tune with three. I think you do an amazing job. Both you and Brian. I learn from you. I hope you get some better rest tonight. I’ll be praying for Malachi too. Adorable pictures.

  2. It is so hard.  It’s so hard because it never stops – especially for you, right now.  I’m hoping that some of it is normal.  But, I agree, I take things way too lightly too much and forget to pray as I should.  In my opinion, you guys are doing a  great job.  It is just so hard.  I pray you all sleep tonight and have a better day tomorrow.

  3. I echo everyone–it is so hard!!   And, with three–it’s such a blessing if you have a good day with all three!!  We’ve had a couple nights with Elli like that before and prayed over her–it’s wierd and scary.  Thanks for sharing this–it was a good reminder to pray more for our children too.  I found a really good prayer list in a book–it may be “Finding your purpose as a mom?”  I’m having a hard time remembering the title.  Malachi and Elijah looked so cute in their matching PJ’s.  Zeke is getting so big!

  4. Yes, I’m going to echo that, too…it is so hard.  I know that awful feeling where you are thinkin, is this normal or is something wrong with my child?  Ellie has these temper tantrums where I can see that her anger is in control and she isn’t.  It’s scary sometimes.  And I am also learning to pray over her and with her a lot.  But I also do think it’s normal…that kids, especially strong-willed ones have to learn the long, hard way how to control themselves.  It sounds like you guys are doing a really good job to me.  I am also learning stuff from listening to you.  Hang in there.  And man, those matching pijamas are cute.

  5. I agree with everything you said. Parenting is so hard and confusing and constant. I don’t know what else we can do besides be consistent and pray. You guys are doing a great job.

  6. Dear Tara, today was really rough for me too. I just wanted to walk away and I wasn’t proud of the way I acted with Wrigley. Sometimes I just feel so tired and overwhelmed. Thank you for sharing your tough day with us and reminding me to pray for my kids. I’m so glad that you have Brian’s support even when he’s gone.

Leave a Reply

