Downtown

We live right in the center of downtown Sebring.  Please don’t let that deceive you.  This is a small town, but we live on the circle of the downtown.  Apparently many things go on in this town center, there was a mini concert and Gallery Walk last night(to look at art and meet artists).  This afternoon I heard a lot of commotion outside, looked out the window and saw a parade.  It must be Sebring High School’s Homecoming weekend……Elijah and I enjoyed watching it.  It was complete with sports cars and homecoming nominees and fire trucks and floats and of course a marching band…..and oh, did I mention the shriners……they aren’t in high school any longer, right?

We went in to check on Malachi during nap time and he wasn’t on the bed.

He liked watching “the line” too.

The marching band was very small, I think it was the smallest high
school marching band I’ve ever seen.  Not surprising, considering this
is the land of 50 year olds and older.   I went grocery shopping
yesterday and saw one other parent with kids in a cart, everyone else
was 65 and older.  I overheard conversations of nursing homes and going
to live with kids and bodily malfunctions.  I saw a sign for an Apple
Festival, I looked it up online…..there wasn’t much info, just that
it was at the Palms of Sebring.  I decided to check it out this
afternoon to see if we could go after dinner.  So Chi and I drove the 4
blocks to it and walked in.  I soon discovered it was a nursing home
with lots of harvest decorations.  Ha….I really thought it would be a
kid festival, so funny.  I like old people…I don’t mean to sound like
I don’t….but it is a kind of culture shock.  I like how they all ooh
and aah over my kids and take the time to talk to them.  It is very
sweet.  We found a kid’s museum a few blocks from here……hopefully
it’s fun.  There’s a park close by too, but we didn’t get to it tonight
because it took Malachi 2 hours to finish his dinner.  I don’t feel
like telling that story. 

This boy is so silly. He loves coming up with goofy faces…….

Zeke is starting to sit-up………

at least for a few seconds……

8 thoughts on “Downtown”

  1. GREAT pictures of your boys.  They are so amazing and cute.  I really can’t wait to hang out with them and get to know them more.  I’m so glad there are some fun things close by.  That thing about the nursing home is funny. 

  2. Wow, what a week! I’m sorry that you are on edge right now and I hope you can feel a little more settled soon. I am feeling the same way lately, like I will just cry at any second. I will be praying for you in your unsettled state. I have been that same way many times in our many transitions.

  3. What a fun surprise parade!  It sounds like Sebring is really nice.  And the “Apple Festival” story is really funny.  I look forward to reading more about your lives in this place.  I love old people.  šŸ™‚

  4. Sebring looks like a quaint town.  I’ve been out of the loop, but am so thankful Malachi is ok.  I can’t believe kids ever eat meds or things like that.  Don’t they taste disgusting?  Surely FAR worse than broccoli šŸ™‚  Well, glad he’s fine and you got quite a conversation starter of a quilt out of the deal!  Hope you guys like FL.

  5. Those really were cute pictures of your boys–really fun pictures of all of them.  The one of Malachi standing behind the curtain cracked me up, Elli or Ethan would definitely be doing that too if they wondered what they heard outside.  I didn’t get a chance to check Xanga for a few days, but I’m praying for you lots too with transitions and really hope you guys can get into a routine soon…I know I thrive on that too.  Praying the stressfulness will go away and you will be able to relax while you’re in Sebring. 

  6. I love your description of the town and the parade. I can just imagine all of the “grandparents” in that town just loving the boys. Cute pictures. Your place looks really pretty, lots of big windows. I love the color of the curtains.

Leave a Reply

