Snowed In

We’ve been in Winona Lake since early Saturday morning.  Saturday right before lunch I drove to Owen’s to grab some cereal, bread and pbj.  It was really, really busy……I wondered why and when I walked back outside it was snowing.  I thought maybe a big storm was coming and got in my van.  I tried to start it but it wouldn’t start.  The lady parked in front of me returned to her car, I asked for a jump, but it didn’t work.  It wasn’t the battery.  Brian got a hold of a friend to come pick me up, my phone died in the middle of that conversation.  I was freezing!  I took a shower and left with wet hair(I rarely go outside with wet hair in the winter).  So I waited and scouted out someone to ask to use their cell phone.  I saw two workers picking up the carts in the parking lot and asked to use a phone.  I got a hold of Brian and found out for sure when I could expect to be picked up.  I got a ride back to the rez in a toasty car.  Brian made many phone calls to figure out what to do…….and we also called Owen’s and found out we’d have to move our van or they would tow it.  So Brian went back and had it towed to a place Blaine helped us find.  We were able to eat dinner at that friend’s house on Saturday night.  Sunday we woke up to a lot of snow, over a foot.  I wondered what we’d do for Sunday night dinner, so I raided Nate and Deb’s cupboards and freezer.  Thanks guys for some chicken, mac-n-cheese, and green beans.  We were just about to eat when we were invited to a progressive dinner at the rez.  The boy’s ate and we got to participate in the traveling from one apartment to the other.  We had some yummy salads and quiche.  Right now Brian is on his way to pick up our van, it was the starter and I think the battery needed to be replaced too.  Yesterday I did a lot of Christmas shopping online, I’m almost done.  I think I may need to step into at least one store to get some gifts.  Shopping online was really really great!!!  I’ve been enjoying our few days here, it feels like the calm before the storm.  We have so much to accomplish in a just a few days in MD—I feel such a heavy burden whenever I think about it all.  I don’t know how it will all work logistically and I’m really concerned about my kids.  They always seem to feel my tension and become needier…..and then I become frustrated because I can’t accomplish what needs to be accomplished.  I also then feel so terrible because I can’t be with them.  I don’t know if any of that makes sense, but I will be so glad to just be settled in CR.  On top of all that, I’m feeling really sad about Christmas.  I wish we could carry on some of our traditions we started last year with the boys and we just aren’t able to do a lot of it.  I’m really ready for a more normal life….which right now would just mean being in one place for a while. 

5 thoughts on “Snowed In”

  1. Wow, what a rotten day to come back to…I hope your van can be fixed without much cost or hassle! I know it is hard to have such transition during Christmas, but from personal experience, these days will be good memories later on even if they aren’t what you were hoping for! I am praying for a meaningful Christmas season for you guys!

  2. What an “out of context” experience to see Brian last night at American Table  (did he tell you?).  I always enjoy reading your stories and experiences as you prepare for your exciting new ministry in Costa Rica!

  3. So sorry about the van issues and in the snowstorm too!   I hope it ends up being cheaper than what you guys were thinking.   Oh Tara, praying for you so much and that Christmas will be really special for you guys in surprising ways.  Soon you will be settled in one place, can’t wait for that to happen for you guys!!

  4. Tara,
    Frank and I are looking forward to seeing you all in December.  Please remember that we are always available to play with and watch the boys if you need us. 
    Have safe travels.  You are well loved.
    Gail Randall

Leave a Reply

