One Hand Old

I can’t believe I have a five year old….and one that is already in Kindergarten!  This will be short because I still need to go frost cupcakes for him to take to school tomorrow.   Malachi is an amazing kid and parenting him is making me grow so much.  He is SO persistent and much more strong-willed than I really realized before moving here.  God has a lot of growing and pruning for me…..I wouldn’t call myself strong-willed (although I have been called stubborn by people in my family) and so I’m learning to lovingly listen and stick to my answers and also to not pull my hair out and get really frustrated in the process!  One of my big sayings right now is “Who is the Mama?  Who knows what is best for you?”  I wish I could be a fly on the wall in his classroom…to see and hear him speak Spanish.  Things come out and he’ll correct me on my pronunciation, but I really don’t know what he knows…..or for that matter what he is learning in school.  It’s 20 questions whenever he gets home, but I don’t know what he’ll know by the end of the year.  It’s weird to not know, since I was a teacher and knew what would be taught in K-grade in the states.  At the end of this month we have a parent-teacher meeting, so hopefully, I can ask more questions.  He does have a special everyday, Music, English, PE, Science/Nature, Stories(I think).  He got a bike today for his birthday….w/ training wheels.  It will be really awesome to see him not need those anymore!  Some of his favorite things to do right now….play the Wii, find snails in our backyard, collect rocks, play with cars, and play with his brothers….and play with Ellie.  He’s funny and serious and a good little thinker and is always a sweet little prayer.  WE now have a desk and computer all set up, so I hope to do pictures this week!   I have tons to share!

4 thoughts on “One Hand Old”

  1. I love the title! A bike is a perfect 5 year old birthday gift šŸ™‚ Ian would be really jealous of the science / nature class! šŸ™‚ Happy Belated You-Gave-Birth-Day!

  2. Wow.  I remember hearing about when you had Malachi!  I love that he’s learning so much Spanish at school.  And really, that’s he’s loving school!  I bet that’s a huge answer to prayer.  I can’t wait for pictures.  Yay computers!  šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

