I like trees.

I visited another plaza the other day with my husband…..just me and the camera and him and a comic book.    We relaxed “together” doing something we both love.  I love capturing trees and all their textures and their leaves and their fruit.  After being a city dweller for years and years now, I’ve realized just how much I love nature and being out in it.  Which can be challenging, but it makes me notice the little bit of nature that dwells in the city.  And well, in this city it dwells every 6 blocks or so….thankfully.  I wasn’t necessarily a tom-boy growing up, but I did love playing outside.  I didn’t have a tree swing or a tree house or a tree that I climbed all the time, but I loved sitting out in my parent’s yard on breezy summer nights, listening to the wind rustle the leaves and smell the full summer’s bloom.  And then I’m reminded of a few children’s books that have been my favorites for years (kid’s books just so happen to be the only thing I collect) and they are all about trees:  The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein, The Tale of Three Trees by Angela Elwell Hunt and Tim Jonke,  Some of My Best Friends are Trees by Joanne Marxhausen.  Yes, I like trees.

tree at Plaza Juan

stump at Plaza Juan

thorned-tree at Plaza Juan

pod

eucalyptus tree at Plaza Juan

eucalyptus leaves blowing in the wind

trunk of a eucalyptus tree

new leaves

tress at Plaza Juan

pod

I like trees.

Leave a Reply

