Project 52 Week 12: Hunger

I’ve never known hunger like she’s known hunger.  I’ve never lived the way she lives.   I don’t know if she has running water or a bathroom in her shack.  I know that her mom loves her and takes care of her the best she can.  I know her shack burnt down a few months after this photo was taken.  And people who love Jesus and love the poor shared food with this little girl and her family, and shared clothes and shared time to clean up the ashes and shared money to help them rebuild.  I had to share a photo of the life we shared with the people in this village in Argentina.  I couldn’t take a photo of my life right now,  these people know what it is like to be hungry and know what it’s like to work hard to give whatever food they can buy to feed their kids.    This is a photo I keep in my mind’s eye, these are the people who’s names I know and who’s stories are ever present in my mind,  I need to keep them close so that I don’t get distracted by the lusts of my own heart for things that are meaningless.  I’m hungry for Jesus and to be as generous to others as He is with me.

project 52 p52 weekly photo challenge my3boybarians.com

6 thoughts on “Project 52 Week 12: Hunger”

  1. Strong beautiful humble words Tara. I love what you said.
    “This is a photo I keep in my mind’s eye, these are the people who’s names I know and who’s stories are ever present in my mind, I need to keep them close so that I don’t get distracted by the lusts of my own heart for things that are meaningless. I’m hungry for Jesus and to be as generous to others as He is with me.”
    I need to keep MY mind’s eye on that.

Leave a Reply

